Secure PERA 2016 Bi-Partisan Legislative Endorsements

Secure PERA is proud to announce our endorsements in the November 2016 legislative races. We encourage you to reach out to any endorsed candidates, especially the ones who represent you, and ask them how you can help their campaign. Many need people to help knock on doors, stuff envelopes or give financially.

The Process:

We sent all candidates on the ballot a questionnaire. The Secure PERA Steering Committee then reviewed their answers looking for candidates that would support the PERA system for retirees, current employees and future employees.  We also took into account the voting record of those who already sit in the legislature.

The Results:

We endorsed 15 Senate candidates and 39 House candidates. This year we did have one dual endorsement. The Steering Committee chose to endorse both Senator Larry Crowder & Sheriff Jim Casias for Senate District 35. We believe both of these gentlemen will be great on PERA issues.

Below are our endorsed candidates along with the counties they represent and their websites so you can easily connect with their campaign. If you are unsure of your legislative districts, you can look them up by clicking here.


Senate District Name Counties In The District Website
4 Christina Riegel Douglas
8 Emily Tracy Garfield, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt, Grand, Jackson & Summit
14 John Kefalas Larimer
18 Stephen Fenberg Boulder
19 Rachel Zenzinger Jefferson
21 Domenick Moreno Adams
25 Jenise May Adams
26 Daniel Kagan Arapahoe
27 Tom Sullivan Arapahoe
28 Nancy Todd Arapahoe
29 Rhonda Fields Arapahoe
31 Lois Court Arapahoe; Denver
33 Angela Williams Denver
35 Jim Casias Alamosa; Baca; Bent; Conejos; Costilla; Crowley; Custer; Huerfano; Kiowa; Las Animas; Mineral; Otero; Prowers; Pueblo; Rio Grande; Saguache
35 Larry Crowder Alamosa; Baca; Bent; Conejos; Costilla; Crowley; Custer; Huerfano; Kiowa; Las Animas; Mineral; Otero; Prowers; Pueblo; Rio Grande; Saguache


House District  Name Counties In The District Website
1 Susan Lontine Denver; Jefferson
3 Jeff Bridges Arapahoe
5 Crisanta Duran Denver
6 Chris Hansen Denver
8 Leslie Herod Denver
9 Paul Rosenthal Arapahoe; Denver
11 Jonathan Singer Boulder
13 KC Becker Boulder; Clear Creek; Gilpin; Grand; Jackson


Tony Exum

Pete Lee

El Paso

El Paso

20 Julia Endicott El Paso
23 Christopher Louis Kennedy Jefferson
24 Jessie Danielson Jefferson
25 Tammy Story Jefferson
26 Diane Mitsch Bush Eagle; Routt
27 Wade Michael Norris Jefferson
28 Brittany Pettersen Jefferson
29 Tracy Kraft-Tharp Jefferson
30 Dafna Jenet Adams
31 Joe Salazar Adams
32 Adrienne Benavidez Adams
33 Matthew Gray Boulder; Broomfield
34 Steve Lebsock Adams
35 Faith Winter Adams
36 Mike Weissman Arapahoe
38 Robert Bowen Arapahoe
40 Janet Buckner Arapahoe
42 Dominique Jackson Arapahoe
43 Scott Wagner Douglas
45 Shantell Schweikart Douglas
46 Daneya Esgar Pueblo
50 Dave Young Weld
51 Jody Shadduck-McNally Larimer
52 Joann Ginal Larimer
53 Jeni Arndt Larimer
59 Barbara McLachlan Archuleta; Gunnison; Hinsdale; La Plata; Ouray; San Juan
61 Millie Hamner Delta; Gunnison; Lake; Pitkin; Summit
62 Donald Valdez Alamosa; Conejos; Costilla; Huerfano; Mineral; Pueblo; Rio Grande; Saguache
63 Thomas Hudson Weld
65 Jon Becker Cheyenne; Kit Carson; Logan; Morgan; Phillips; Sedgwick; Yuma


Recommended Posts