House Bill 11-1248

The Coalition Opposes HB1248

House Bill 1248 is sponsored by Rep. Jim Kerr (R-Littleton) and Sen. Ellen Roberts (R-Durango). The bill modifies the composition of the PERA Board of Trustees so that it is comprised of six Trustees appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate who are not PERA members or retirees and who are experts in certain fields, the State Treasurer, three elected members from the School Division, two elected members from the State Division, one elected member from each of the Local Government and Judicial divisions, and one elected retiree. One elected member from the State and School divisions shall be at least 15 years from retirement eligibility when first elected. The bill allows current Trustees to finish serving their terms and eliminates Trustees who represent each of the divisions and retirees as their terms expire. The bill retains the ex officio Trustee from the Denver Public Schools Division.

This bill passed second reading in the House on March 11, 2011, and at the request of the House sponsor has been assigned to the House State, Veterans and Military Affairs Committee. The bill is scheduled to be heard on Wednesday, April 13, at 1:30 p.m. in Room 0112.